The Symbolic (Blue) Lodge

Square & Compass LogoThe Symbolic Lodge is the foundation and cornerstone of Freemasonry. This is the local unit which has the daily responsibility for implementing the programs and policies of the fraternity. The primary mission of a lodge is to create Master Masons. This activity should extend beyond the conferral of degrees and continue to provide general Masonic education for all members.

These Lodges have been termed “Blue Lodges”, because “blue is emblematic of friendship, a peculiar characteristic of ancient craft Masonry”. The color for borders of aprons, collars and other regalia of the Symbolic Lodge is blue.

The roster of officers of a Lodge have slight variations in different jurisdictions, however, the following list is fairly standard:

  • Worshipful Master
  • Senior Warden
  • Junior Warden
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Senior Deacon
  • Junior Deacon
  • Stewards (2)
  • Chaplain
  • Tyler

A number of Lodges appoint a Marshal and/or a Musician.

Excerpted from: A History and Handbook, The York Rite of Freemasonry, by Frederic G. Speidel
Posted in Excerpts and tagged .

Leave a Reply